Duke Government Relations works with agencies across the federal government to support the mission of higher education across the country. Learn more about Duke’s interactions with the administration and our positions on issues that affect higher education.

Administration Officials

Track the current status of relevant cabinet, sub-cabinet and agency appointees in the current administration.

Department of Agriculture

  • Tom Vilsack, Secretary
  • Jewel Bronaugh, Deputy Secretary
  • Chavonda Jacobs-Young, Under Secretary for Research, Education and Economics

Department of Commerce

  • Gina Raimondo, Secretary
  • Don Graves, Deputy Secretary
  • Alan Estevez, Under Secretary for Industry and Security (nominated)
  • Laurie Locasio, Director and Under Secretary for Standards and Technology
  • Richard W. Spinrad, Administrator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Sarah Kapnick, Chief Scientist, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Kathie Vidal, Director and Under Secretary, United States Patent and Trademark Office

Department of Defense

  • Lloyd Austin, Secretary
  • Kathleen H. Hicks, Deputy Secretary of Defense
  • Heidi Shyu, Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering
  • Dr. William A. LaPlante, Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Sustainment
  • Terence Emmert, Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering
  • Rear Admiral Lorin C. Selby, Chief of Naval Research
  • Stefanie Tompkins, Director of DARPA

Department of Education

  • Miguel Cardona, Secretary
  • James Kvaal, Under Secretary of Education
  • Cindy Marten, Deputy Secretary
  • Michelle Asher Cooper, Acting Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education

Department of Energy

  • Jennifer Granholm, Secretary
  • David M. Turk, Deputy Secretary
  • Jose W. Fernandez, Under Secretary for Economic Growth, Energy and the Environment
  • Geraldine Richmond, Under Secretary for Science
  • Kelly Speakes-Bachman, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
  • Asmeret Berhe, Director, Office of Science
  • Dr. Jennifer Gerbi, Director, Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy

Department of Health and Human Services

  • Xavier Becerra, Secretary
  • Janet Woodcock, Acting Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration

Department of Homeland Security

  • Alejandro Mayorkas, Secretary
  • John K. Tien, Deputy Secretary
  • Kathryn Coulter Mitchell, Under Secretary for Science and Technology
  • Ed Gonzalez, Assistant Secretary, US Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Ur Jaddou, Director, US Citizenship and Immigration Services

Department of Housing and Urban Development

  • Marcia Fudge, Secretary

Department of the Interior

  • Deb Haaland, Secretary
  • David Applegate, United States Geological Survey

Department of Justice

  • Merrick Garland, Attorney General

Department of Labor

  • Marty Walsh, Secretary

Department of State

  • Antony Blinken, Secretary
  • Wendy R. Sherman, Deputy Secretary of State
  • Rena Bitter, Assistant Secretary for Consular Affairs
  • Lee Satterfield, Assistant Secretary for Educational and Cultural Affairs
  • Monica Medina, Assistant Secretary for Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs

Department of Transportation

  • Pete Buttigieg, Secretary
  • Stephen Dickson, Administrator, FAA

Department of Treasury

  • Janet Yellen, Secretary

Department of Veterans Affairs

  • Denis McDonough, Secretary

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

  • Michael Regan, Administrator
  • Chris Frey, Assistant Administrator for Research and Development

Office of Management & Budget (OMB)

  • Shalanda Young, Director
  • Dominic Mancini, Administrator, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs
  • John Pasquantino, Controller, Office of Federal Financial Management

Office of the Director of National Intelligence (DNI)

  • Avril Haines, Director

Office of the Director of Science & Technology Policy

  • Arati Prabhakar, Director
  • Dr. Jo Handelsman, Associate Director for Science
  • Dr. Carrie Wolinetz, Deputy Director for Health and Life Sciences
  • Dr. Morgan Dwyer, Principle Assistant Director for National Security
  • Dr. Jane Lubchenco, Deputy Director for Climate and Environment

United States Mission to the United Nations

  • Linda Thomas-Greenfield, Ambassador

United States Small Business Administration

  • Isabel Guzman, Administrator

United States Trade Representative

  • Katherine Tai, Representative

White House Chief of Staff

  • Ronald Klain

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

  • Steve Jurcyzk, Acting Administrator

United States Agency for International Development (USAID)

  • Gloria D. Steele, Acting Administrator

National Science Foundation (NSF)

  • Sethuraman Panchanathan

National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)

  • Adam Wolfson, Acting Chairman

Fish and Wildlife Services Agency

  • Martha Williams, Director
  • Stephen D. Guertin, Deputy Director for Program Management and Policy

National Institute of Health (NIH)

  • Francis Collins, Director

Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA)

  • Dominic Mancini, Director

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

  • Janet Woodcock, Acting Commissioner

Executive Orders

See executive orders from the current administration across a range of issues of importance to Duke University.